Julie Konik LTC cover

Julie Konik has been with LTC since 2018.

CLEVELAND – Lakeshore Technical College psychology instructor Julie Konik has been awarded the 2023 Dale P. Parnell Faculty Distinction Recognition by the American Association of Community Colleges.

In addition to teaching psychology, Konik coordinates LTC’s therapy dog program, serves as co-chair for the diversity and inclusion committee, and is a member of the Lakeshore Leadership Development Institute cohort.

“Julie is an exceptional instructor and leader on our campus. Feedback from her students confirms she is reaching her goal to have them grow both intellectually and psychologically throughout her courses. Her open mind and intentional efforts to help them understand today’s world from a psychological angle help create a more understanding community in and out of the classroom,” said LTC President Dr. Paul Carlsen.

Konik, who has been at LTC since 2018, was also heavily involved in creating the college’s new Associate of Arts and Associate of Science degree programs. She is the fifth LTC faculty member to earn Parnell Recognition in the last six years.

Previous honorees include welding program coordinator and instructor David Saunders, information technology network specialist instructor Paul Benfield, sociology instructor Jeremy Pagel, and information technology web and software developer instructor Sarah Bornemann.

The Dale P. Parnell Faculty Distinction Recognition is named for former AACC President and CEO Dale P. Parnell, and was established to honor individuals making a difference in college classrooms.

This includes demonstrating a passion for students and the classroom, supporting students inside and outside of the classroom, participating in college committees, and going above and beyond what is required to ensure that students are successful academically.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to tjones@orourkemediagroup.com.

Share your opinion


Join the conversation

Recommended for you