Ron Johnson

Wisconsin Republican Sen. Ron Johnson is among a group of 11 senators on Saturday who said they will object to the Electoral College results on Wednesday.

On Wednesday, both the US House and Senate will meet in a Joint Session where Electoral College counts will be announced from each state.

The GOP senators who are opposing the results with Johnson include:

• Ted Cruz (Texas)

• James Lankford (Oklahoma)

• Steve Daines (Montana)

• John Kennedy (Louisiana)

• Marsha Blackburn (Tennessee)

• Mike Braun (Indiana)

• Cynthia Lummis (Wyoming)

• Roger Marshall (Kansas)

• Bill Hagerty (Tennessee)

• Tommy Tuberville (Alabama)

Here is part of their joint statement:

"A fair and credible audit—conducted expeditiously and completed well before January 20—would dramatically improve Americans' faith in our electoral process and would significantly enhance the legitimacy of whoever becomes our next President. We owe that to the People," the statement read. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to

Share your opinion


Join the conversation

Recommended for you